Who does Ben sound like?

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Who does Ben sound like?

Post  Peter on Sat May 22, 2010 11:59 am

I'm still young ok? I'm still learning Razz but until recently I haven't listened to much Al Green, I was familiar with Love and Happiness and one or two others but it wasn't until the other day that I got his greatest hits album and gave it a good listen. MY GOD why have I not heard this comparison before? It's obvious that Al has had quite an influence on the way Ben sings. I listened to How can you mend a broken heart and almost did an aural version of a double-take. I think its the way he sort of belts the notes thats so similar. Its fantastic to have another similar artist to discover for the first time again!

Anyone else have any similar stories?
Peter

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Who does Ben sound like?

Post  aski on Fri May 28, 2010 4:40 pm

try compare the song The Woman In You with Jeff Buckley's music. The way Ben screams out the climax of the song ("womaaaaaaan") is pretty similar to Jeff's Mojo Pin ("Blaaaaaack beauty"-part).

Ben is also quoted in the Jeff Buckley compilation "So Real":

Ben Harper:
“Never have I seen such infinite musical potential in anyone."

also, Ben met Jeff Buckley back in 1995, when they played the same European summer festivals.

I just flipped through my Jeff Buckley cuttings and articles, and found this excerpt from a french Rolling Stone magazine interview back in 2003 (translated to English by a friend of mine):